Introvert or Extrovert?

Sometimes I feel like I have multiple personalities: can you be both extroverted and introverted? 

I am a friendly person. Too friendly if you ask my children–they hate it when I strike up conversations with strangers in the grocery store. I like working with others, chatting with co-workers (back when I worked in an office) and going out for lunch with friends. You could drop me in a strange city and I’d have a network within the day. And if you knew me as a teen, you’d say I was the biggest flirt ever. I am definitely outgoing but it’s a lot of work to be “on” for the public.

So where does the introvert come from?

I love working from home, sitting in my pajamas with my dog, Jack, at my side. No worrying about putting on makeup or doing my hair. I can spend hours curled up with a good book. I think taking myself out for lunch with something to read is even better than meeting up with friends. And people watching! I love watching the crowd go by, imagining what’s going on in each person’s life. That’s the writer/observer side of me coming out.

I guess it boils down to who is the real me–the outgoing social butterfly or the quiet wallflower. My guess is the wallflower because when I’m stressed out and need a break, I need to be alone. It doesn’t mean I don’t love my friends and family, I simply get my energy by being alone. To a point, of course, then I get lonely and need to talk to another human (thanks for calling me last night, Patrick)!

Does this make me a better writer? Maybe, because I can spend hours behind the keyboard without pulling out my hair in boredom. But in order to create lifelike characters you need to actually interact with people, engage in conversation and make friends.

I’d say I’ve got the best of both worlds.

What works for you? Are you a people person or a loner?

This entry was posted in About Me and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Introvert or Extrovert?

  1. Hektor Karl says:

    I consider posting a comment to be a major social accomplishment, so I suppose I’m a bit of a loner :).

    Now I’ll be reading quietly in the corner to recuperate…

  2. Jenna says:

    I am a mixed bag also. I work from home and also love spending time with my doggie. It’s great to get out with friends and family, but I need to prepare for this. I have to charge up like a glow in the dark plastic toy. I do this by getting a fair amount of alone time before the outing. If I don’t do this, things don’t go well.

    I read somewhere online that – extroverts energize themselves by plugging into people. Once they’ve exhausted the person they are talking to they just move on to the next one. Introverts become unplugged the minute they step out the door or out of their comfort zone and slowly drain and run out of energy.

    Makes perfect sense to me.

    ~ Jenna

    • I agree, Jenna. I often feel like I have to wind myself up and force myself to be social. It’s just easier not to. I sometimes feel like I’m putting on an act in public instead of being myself.

    • Thanks Carolyn! I’ll answer the questions and pass the love along when I get back from Florida. I’m typing from an iPod right now and it’s not going well–touch screens are not my friend!

  3. Sheilagh Lee says:

    I nominated you for the Irresistibly Sweet blog award.

Leave a Reply

